Pathfinders: The Golden Age of Arabic Science; Jim Al-Khalili

For over 700 years the international language of science was Arabic. In Pathfinders, Jim Al-Khalili celebrates the forgotten, inspiring pioneers who helped shape our understanding of the world during the golden age of Arabic science, including Iraqi physicist Ibn al-Haytham, who practised the modern scientific method over half a century before Bacon; al-Khwarizmi, the greatest mathematician of the medieval world; and Abu Rayhan al-Biruni, a Persian polymath to rival Leonardo da Vinci.

Recommendations

This book was recommended for #sciteachlib by:

  • @Arakwai
  • @LGolton: What I loved about this book was it filled in so much of the scientific history that is missing from what I learnt in school. I’ve used the details to fill in a whole section of my science timeline that had ‘nothing’ according to the many other science history books I had read. (from the comment thread below).

Further Information

More information on this book can be found  Goodreads. It can be purchased from Amazon (UK)

The author’s website is here: http://www.jimal-khalili.com/

2 Responses to Pathfinders: The Golden Age of Arabic Science; Jim Al-Khalili

  1. LGolton says:

    What I loved about this book was it filled in so much of the scientific history that is missing from what I learnt in school. I’ve used the details to fill in a whole section of my science timeline that had ‘nothing’ according to the many other science history books I had read.

    • Thanks for your comment – I’ll add your quote to the main text. A brilliant reason for science teachers to read this book. We generally teach a very “westernised” view of science in the UK.

Leave a review of this item.

